Project7 Crochet Hook Carrying Case

Any crocheter will have a range of varying size hooks in their possession. And chances are that those hooks are neatly and safely stored away until you are ready to put them to good use…right? (You are nodding your head yes, right?) Confession: I’ve never owned a true-blue crochet hook case like the one from Susan Bates or Boye.

Instead I’ve used supply cases that could have had a different purpose in a past life. At first, I had a pencil carrying pouch. It was too big and eventually, I was able to include yarn scraps, a measuring tape, weaving needle, stitch markers, and scissors. I ended up moving to a travel tooth brush case. This has worked for me for many years.

Broken Crochet Carry CaseThen this afternoon as I was taking out my hooks, I found that the lid was broken! I have no idea how it happened, but I knew I had to find a new case for my hooks – stat! With the size of the gash, I knew my hooks would make an escape sooner rather than later. And that’s when my repurposing/upcycling skills were put to the test.

 

A couple weeks ago, I bought some Project 7 gum. This particular gum promises to plant a tree for tube purchased. Get my gum fix and do something good for the Earth? I’m in! (You can read more about Project 7 and their products for good from their website.)

I liked that that the tube had a lid at the top that secured well. It’ll make sure to keep all of my hooks contained. To re-purpose the gum tube, all I did was take off the plastic label – and voila, a new crochet hook carrying case. I could have gotten really fancy and slipped in some scrapbooking paper to make it look really nice. However, I liked being able to see through and see all of my hooks.
IMG_6863IMG_6864

Until I’m able to get a needle nook from Slipped Stitch Studios, my plastic upcycled container will do.

Do you have a favorite crochet hook carrying case? What other supplies have you repurposed for your crochet needs?

One thought on “Project7 Crochet Hook Carrying Case

Leave a Reply

