Knitting with a Crochet Hook…Kinda (Part 2)

In my previous post, I showed you what I was able to create with a knook. Here is a summary of my experience using a knook for the first time…

IMG_7490[1]

Practice Swatch

In the beginning:
– The foundation chains are stitched the same as with regular crochet.
– The first row is worked a lot like tunisian crochet. You insert the hook, yarn over, and pull up a loop; repeat until the last chain. The instruction booklet and video tutorials make it a point to caution you about not doing a crochet yarn over since a knook yarn over is different. This especially becomes important when you do the knit and purl stitches.
– I have having a very difficult time getting the stitches to look even. I realized that this was also my problem when using regular knitting needles. So I did a swatch to practice the stitches. Once I was more confident with holding the knook and thread, I went back to the cozy pattern.

During:
– I tend to crochet with aluminum hooks so the feel of the wooden knook was a little odd to me. The knook wasn’t sliding well between stitches. Then I remembered a trick I had read: run the hook through your hair, as close to your scalp as possible. The natural oils in your hair are supposed to help – and wouldn’t you know, it did!
– One of my “a-ha” moment revolved around how I hold the instrument. When crocheting, I hold the hook like a pencil. Yet when knitting, I hold the needle like I would a knife. This further helped me understand why I was having such a difficult time getting even tension with my stitches. Somehow, having this realization helped me gain more confidence in my knooking. To humor myself, I tried to hold the knook like I do a hook and it felt awkward.
hold-crochet-hook-1_1-800X800hold-crochet-hook-1_2-800X800

In the end:
Let’s start with the pluses…
– I enjoyed using my knook. I found it a lot easier to control the yarn with one hand and let my other one do the stitches (like crochet) without having to coordinate the use of both of my hand to complete a stitch (like in knitting).
– You can’t tell the difference between a product that was knitted and was that one knook-ed.
– I still love crochet very much and will more than likely keep preferring it over knitting. At least now, I feel that I have a “cheater” method if I happen to fall in love with a knitting project.
– Leisure Arts, the creators of the Knook, have great instructional videos on YouTube. When the written instructions got a little fuzzy, I was able to go online and find the tutorial video to go along.
And the minuses…
– I wish there was a way to purchase different size knooks without having to purchase an entire kit. Perhaps if we help spread the word about the knook, Leisure Arts will sell individual knooks and not just kits? 🙂
– If you’re not careful, you will lose stitches and if you don’t have a good grasp of the basics of knitting, you will be in a world of hurt trying to pick up your stitches. With this in mind, if you do wish to purchase a kit, I would recommend you spend a little more and get the Knook Expanded Beginner Kit. Not only will you get more hooks but you’ll also get chord clips and those alone will be a lifesaver.

Do any of you have experience using a Knook? If so, what kind of projects have you completed with it?

Photo Credit: Crochet Hook Holding by Boys Can Crochet.

One thought on “Knitting with a Crochet Hook…Kinda (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: 100 Happy Days – Day 11 | Barefoot Mahala

Leave a Reply

